Dear Shaded Viewers,

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) celebrated the winners and honorees of the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards presented by Amazon Fashion.

Each year the CFDA Fashion Awards celebrate and honor the power of self-expression. Tonight, the fashion community came together to recognize the work of those who champion creativity and serve as ambassadors for American fashion.

CFDA Chairman Thom Browne welcomed honorees, nominees, and 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards guests with opening remarks at the start of the ceremony.

 Anne Hathaway served as the evening’s host. The Academy Award-winning actress also presented the American Womenswear Designer of the Year award with Narciso Rodriguez to Catherine Holstein of KHAITE, while J Balvin and Greg Lauren presented the American Menswear Designer of the Year award to Willy Chavarria.

Ayo Edebiri and Prabal Gurung announced Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen of The Row as the American Accessory Designer of the Year, while Charles Melton and Zac Posen presented the Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year award to Rachel Scott of Diotima.

Serena Williams was named Fashion Icon, presented by Kim Kardashian.

Demi Moore, who was introduced by the President of Amazon Fashion, Muge Erdirik Dogan, gave the Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion to goop, with Founder and CEO Gwyneth Paltrow accepting the award.

Vanessa Hudgens presented the Board of Directors’ Tribute to Vera Wang for her impact on bridal.

Naomi Watts presented Alina Cho with the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Maria Cornejo by Laura Linney.

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert was presented to Domenico De Sole by Tom Ford.

Rosario Dawson presented Mara Hoffman with the Environmental Sustainability Award.

Greta Lee gave the International Award to Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson and LOEWE.

Program highlights included a tribute to the 50th anniversary of Hip-hop featuring a film by legendary music video director Hype Williams and made possible by New Era. Mary J. Blige introduced the film, which featured Missy Elliott, LL Cool J, June Ambrose, Biz Markie, and Salt-N-Pepa, with music by Pharrell.

The evening also paid tribute to the 50th anniversary of the Battle of Versailles. Stephen Burrows, one of the five American designers in the legendary event, and Bethann Hardison and Pat Cleveland, who modeled in the show, remembered the event that forever changed the course of American fashion.

The CFDA Fashion Awards presented by Amazon Fashion took place on Monday, November 6th at the American Museum of Natural History.

Transportation for the CFDA Fashion Awards presented by Amazon Fashion was provided by Genesis.

Armand de Brignac provided champagne for the evening.


HOST: Anne Hathaway

AWARDS PRESENTERS: Ayo Edebiri, Charles Melton, Demi Moore, Greta Lee, J Balvin, Kim Kardashian, Laura Linney, Mary J. Blige, Naomi Watts, Narciso Rodriguez, Prabal Gurung, Rosario Dawson, Tom Ford, Vanessa Hudgens, Zac Posen

HONOREES: Alina Cho, Domenico De Sole, goop (Gwyneth Paltrow), Jonathan Anderson, Mara Hoffman, Maria Cornejo, Serena Williams, Vera Wang


American Womenswear Designer of the Year: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Christopher John Rogers, Catherine Holstein for Khaite, Raul Lopez for LUAR, Tory Burch

American Menswear Designer of the Year: Mike Amiri for AMIRI, Willy Chavarria, Colm Dillane for KidSuper, Teddy von Ranson for TEDDY VONRANSON, Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York

American Accessory Designer of the Year: Ana Khouri, Brandon Blackwood, Stuart Vevers for Coach, Raul Lopez for LUAR, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Shop with Google American Emerging Designer of the Year: Bach Mai, Connor McKnight, Rachel Scott for Diotima, Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell for Tanner Fletcher, and Carly Mark for Puppets And Puppets.

VIP Guests: Alton Mason, Amelia Gray Hamlin, Andrew Bolton, Anna Wintour, Ariana DeBose,  Ashley Graham, Aurora James, Ayesha Curry, Camila Mendes, Chase Stokes, Chloe Sevigny, Christian Siriano, Christina Najjar, Coco Rocha, Cynthia Erivo, Cynthia Rowley, Dennis Basso, Devon Lee Carlson, Diane von Furstenberg, Dove Cameron, Emily Ratajkowski, Emma Chamberlain, Eva Chen, Fernando Garcia, Hari Nef, J Balvin, Jane Krakowski, Jasmin Larian Hekmat, Jason Wu, Jenna Lyons, Jennifer Fisher, Jonathan Simkhai, Jordyn Woods, Joseph Altuzarra, Josh Richards, June Ambrose, Kim Petras, La La Anthony, Lakeith Stanfield, LaQuan Smith, Laura Kim, Leandra Medine Cohen, Leni Olumi Klum, Lexi Wood, Lil Yachty, Lily Aldridge, Liza Koshy, Lola Tung, Lori Harvey,  Madelyn Cline, Martha Stewart, Meredith Duxbury, Molly Ringwald, Morgan Stewart McGraw, Muge Erdirik Dogan, Nicky Rothschild, Nina Garcia, Paloma Elsesser, Quinta Brunson, Saweetie, Stacey Bendet Eisner, Stephanie Horton, Stephanie Hsu, Talita von Furstenberg, Teyana Taylor, Thom Browne, Tokischa, Tommy Dorfman, Valentina Ferrer, Wes Gordon, Winnie Harlow, Wisdom Kaye


Nominees, honorees, and winners were determined by the CFDA Awards Guild which is comprised of CFDA members, leading fashion journalists, stylists, and top retail executives.




Diane Pernet

A LEGENDARY FIGURE IN FASHION and a pioneer of blogging, Diane is a respected journalist, critic, curator and talent-hunter based in Paris. During her prolific career, she designed her own successful brand in New York, costume designer, photographer, and filmmaker.